Christmas goodies for the fam.

Posted on

Image
Ignore the surrounding junk.

So I made a pecan pie, cheesecake, and fudge for our family Christmas. The pecan pie recipe is here, the cheesecake is Tina’s recipe, and the fudge recipe is here.

This is my third pecan pie and my second time using this recipe. Everyone loved it, went nuts for it even. I followed the recipe exactly up until the pecan pieces that get mixed in. Instead of 1 cup I used 1/2 cup. A full cup just seemed like a lot to use. Now I don’t like pecans so I didn’t try it but everyone said this recipe was much better than the first one I tried on Thanksgiving. 

The cheesecake recipe is amazing and super simple. It comes from our long lost ninja (she’s not on the internet very much). So this recipe comes from our darling Tina.

Image
Sorry the pic isn’t better. My camera died before I could get a picture so I had to use my phone.

2 bars of cream cheese
1/2 one container of cool whip
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla extract
1 pre-made graham crack crust

I let the cream cheese sit out for a few hours but Tina says you can nuke it for about 1 minute until it’s soft. Once cream cheese is soft blend it with sugar, cool whip, and extract. Poor it into the crust and stick it in the fridge for a few hours (I let my Christmas cheesecake sit in the fridge for 2 days and it was still lovely when we served it). Now as for toppings you can use pretty much whatever you want. My first cheesecake I did a berry medley with a frozen mix and boiled it with some sugar until it had some nice syrup to go with it. On my second I topped it with strawberries (again, frozen) and then attempted to drizzle chocolate over it (melted chocolate chips).

Now to the fudge. The delicious, simply amazing fudge. I decided to make the fudge as Christmas gifts because I had no idea what to get for everyone and who doesn’t love fudge? I ended up making 4 batches (way too much – but mmmm) and getting small cardboard boxes from Dollar General to gift the fudge in. I put 2 layers of fudge in each box, seperated by a piece of wax paper. I will forever use this recipe. It reminds me of my Grandma’s fudge that she used to make on Christmas. It’s amazing and only uses 3 ingredients. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. Seriously. Do it.

Image
The boxes were $1 each and had cute little Christmas themes like this one.

 

Leave a Reply

